Skip to main content

Philosophy & Religious Studies

Google Scholar

E-Books

Google EbooksGoogle has worked with many universities, such as Stanford, Princeton, the University of Michigan and Oxford University to scan their out-of-print and current books. You will see links directing you to bookstores and libraries where you can borrow it. If Google has determined that a book is out of copyright, or the publisher or rightsholder has given them permission, you'll be able to page through the entire book. select "fully view only" when conducting your search to find books that are available in full.

Subject Guide

Matthew Valdez's picture
Matthew Valdez
Contact:
Pikes Peak Community College -
Learning Commons, A200XA
719.502.2409
Website / Blog Page

Online Resources-- Religious Studies

Sources for additional research.  Not all are scholarly.

Christian-Specific Links

BibleGateway.com: Contains multiple versions in varying translations and languages of the Bible (Old Testament and New Testament). It features the ability to search within the online full-text.

Catholic Web Resources: Pathfinder / subject guide for World Wide Web resources related to Catholicism. Guided by John L Gresham, MLS PhD

Dead Sea Scrolls Site: Library of Congress exhibition. Contains comprehensive history and photos of the scrolls, caves, artifacts, etc., bibliography, and glossary.

Dalai Lama News

Loading

Youtube Tidbits

General Links for Religious Studies on the Web

allAfrica.com: One of the Internet’s largest sites in terms of content, with over 1,000 stories posted daily and a searchable archive of over 900,000 articles (from 1997).

The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA): Allows access to data concerning religions in the U.S. and around the world. Information is restricted to measurable units (data), allowing for inconsistent coverage in some areas and particularly in non-western religions. Currently housed in the Social Science Research Institute at Pennsylvania State University and funded by the Lily Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, and Penn State.

Buddhanet.net: Site contains a library of electronic books and articles related to the study of Buddhism, among other resources, and has plans to include multi-media content in the future. The site is published by Buddha Dharma Education Association, a non-sectarian Buddhist organization.

CDRI: Digital Resources for the Study of Religion: A collection of digital resources (images, .pdf files, texts, maps, manuscripts, music, etc.) centered on the topic of Christianity and contributed by members of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools.

Islam, Islamic Studies, Arabic, and Religion: Extensive web site of Professor Alan A. Godlas of the Department of Religion, University of Georgia. Contains articles, entries and links to a large assortment of information and news concerns Islam and the study of Islam.

Jewish Virtual Library: Online encyclopedia of Jewish history, culture, and religion. Designed by the American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise (AICE).

Project Gutenburg (www.gutenberg.org): Project Gutenburg is an effort to digitize non-copyrighted material, or material whose copy right has lapsed. It contains many resources on topics related to philosophy and religious studies, arrange by topic, use the search function.

Pikes Peak Community College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning