Skip to main content

History

General History

Internet History Sourcebooks Project, Fordham University (Paul Halsall, Editor)A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts.  Many, but not all of these resources are primary source documents.  Read the top and the bottom of the webpage to see what kind of source it is (primary or secondary), and to find citation information. 

Digital Public Library of America: Links to libraries, archives and museums by way of tapping into their digital collections.  Good source for primary documents.

History Guide: The History Guide is a subject gateway to scholarly relevant websites in history.

World Wide Virtual Library- History: A history subject gateway maintained by the European University.

World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Colorado History

Center for Colorado and the West at Auraria Library

 

Colorado Historical Newspapers Collection

The Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection (CHNC) currently includes more than 500,000 digitized pages, representing 163 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 to 1923. Due to copyright restrictions, CHNC does not generally include newspapers published after 1923. 

Denver Public Library's Digital Collections (Western History)

This renowned on-line collection contains a selection of photographs, maps, broadsides, architectural drawings and other documents from the collections of the Western/Genealogy Department chronicling the people, places, and events that shaped the settlement and growth of the Western United Sates.

Google eBooks

Google has digitized a growing library of books from major universities, available as "Full View".

Google Scholar

Evaluating Websites

Before you use a website for a paper or project, you should evaluate it and make sure it is appropriate for your class research. You can use the CRAAP test to help you determine if your source is a good one. 

CRAAP scorecard for evaluating sources. The categories for scoring include:

  • currency
    • when was the information published or updated?
  • relevance
    • does this source answer your research or assignment questions?
  • authority
    • who is the author or publisher and can you verify his or her credentials?
  • accuracy
    • are the statements or facts backed up with evidence and sources?
  • purpose
    • is the information unbiased and impartial?

Each category can be scored from one to ten with one being the low score and ten being the high score. The higher the total score, the more reliable the website may be. Any source scoring below thirty might not be considered acceptable for academic research.

History of the United States

American Memory from the Library of Congress

Historical Collections for the National Digital Library (good resource for primary sources)

The American Presidency Project

Access to archives containing 96,815 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology

This web site provides an opportunity to read a sample of these narratives, and to see some of the photographs taken at the time of the interviews. The entire collection of narratives can be found in George P. Rawick, ed., The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1972-79). Site is authored by Bruce Fort, Department of History at the University of Virginia.

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

The Avalon Project makes available a comprehensive collection of original source documents ranging in time from antiquity to the present day in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

Chronology of U.S. History Documents

Published by the College of Law at the University of Oklahoma. Provides full-text of significant documents in United States History, such as Magna Carta and the Constitution of the United States. Document coverage spans from 1215 through 1998.

Denver Public Library- Western History and Genealogy Digital Image Collection

Over 120,000 of the images in the collection have been digitized and are available for viewing online in the Digital Image Catalog (formerly Photoswest).

Digital American History

Hosted by the Univeristy of Houston, this site has extensive resources available to students of the history of the United States, including primary documents.

Documenting the American South

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fifteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence

Teaching and learning resources from Federal Agencies.  Good resources for finding sites on U.S. history.

History Matters, The U.S. Survey Course on the Web

History subject directory; designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.

John F. Kennedy Presidential Archive and Museum

The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum collects materials that relate to the life and times of John F. Kennedy, the 35th U.S. President. This includes the collections (textual documents, audiovisual items, and museum artifacts) of John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, Joseph P. Kennedy and Rose Kennedy, as well as over 600 other collections including Kennedy family members, authors, politicians, and individuals and organizations who worked for, with, or because of John F. Kennedy.

Making of America

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

The Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

History of Europe

Book of Hours Digital at Harvard College Library 

EuroDocsWestern European Primary Historical Documents

From Roman Republic to Empire (VROMA) at Rhodes College

GallicaDigital Library of the National Library of France

The Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO)A joint project of the American Academy of research Historians of Medieval Spain and the Univeristy of Central Arkansas.  Its task is to make available to users the best scholarship about the peoples and notions of the Iberian penninsula

The Princeton Dante Project  

Treasures of HeavenHoused at Columbia, This resource is an interactive website for reliquaries and shires, with some stories about saints and holy places.  There are even 360 degree views of some shires.

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

The Avalon Project makes available a comprehensive collection of original source documents ranging in time from antiquity to the present day in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

 

Asia

Asia for Educators  |  afe.easia.columbia.edu/

Columbia University's source for Asia Studies.

Near East / Middle East / West Asia

Ancient Mesopotamia at the Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago

Mesopotamia at Washington State University

Scrolls from Dead Sea at the Library of Congress

Pikes Peak Community College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning