Skip to main content

Geography

Climate

US Geographical Survey Resources

Field Records Collection - USGS Denver Library

"[A]n archive of unpublished field notes, maps, correspondence, manuscripts, analysis reports . . . [T]he collection is available for on-premises examination during normal library hours. . . . Materials in the collection represent almost 130 years of scientific investigations by the USGS, from the earliest days of the agency to recently completed projects."
 

Photographic Collection - USGS Denver Library

"[A]n archive of still photographs and original sketches dating from the 1870’s. . . . Topics include USGS personnel, earthquakes, volcanoes, geologic hazards and other phenomena, historical mining operations, and earth science photographs."

Gateway to Garden of the Gods, west of Colorado Springs. El Paso County, Colorado. Circa 1900. Plate 1, with Ives three color process, in U.S. Geological Survey. Professional paper 32. 1905.  Image file: /htmllib/btch242/btch242j/btch242z/dnh00429.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gateway to Garden of the Gods, west of Colorado Springs. El Paso County, Colorado. Circa 1900. Plate 1 in U.S. Geological Survey. Professional paper 32. 1905. Image file: /htmllib/btch242/btch242j/btch242z/dnh00429.jpg

 

Geographic Names Information System
 

Topographical Maps - USGS Denver Library

Dating from the 1880's and includes all States


Online Maps, Imagery, & Publications


Kunz Collection
USGS Reston, VA, Library

"[A] significant special collection on gems and minerals including rare books on gemology, the folklore of gemstones through history, lapidary arts and archival gem trade records important to the provenance of named stones such as the 'Hope Diamond.'"

Pikes Peak Community College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning