Skip to main content

English 122

Use the Cite Feature

Many databases have a "cite button" that will give you citation information.  

EbscoHost Databases: 

JSTOR:

Tips for Avoiding Plagiarism

Don't Procrastinate

Do not wait until the last minute, as this often leads to careless mistakes. Plan ahead and stay organized.

Keep Track of Your Sources

As you conduct your search save any pieces of information you plan to use. Either print them or save them.

Take Good Notes

Keep a list of all the sources you consult, including page numbers and web addresses. It's easier to delete something you don't use than to have to try to find something again later.

Ask For Help

If you have a question about using sources in your paper, ask your instructor or stop by the library for help. 

 

Citing Sources

In your research, you will need to understand how to interpret the citations you find in indexes and bibliographies, as well as how to cite sources in your own bibliographies.


Interpreting Citations

A citation is a reference to a source of information. It should include enough identifying information, including such information as the author, title, and source, so that a reader can locate a copy of the item. Citations may reference any type of information including: 

  • Book 
  • Essay or chapter in a book 
  • Journal article 
  • Magazine article 
  • Newspaper article
  • NSU MARP or practicum 
  • Conference proceeding 
  • Dissertation 
  • Internet document 
  • ERIC ED document
  • Government document 
  • Speech 
  • Radio or television broadcast 
  • Video or movie

Book Citation

Sample of a book citation 
 

 


Magazine Article Citation

Sample of a magazine article citation

 


Journal Article Citation

Sample of a journal article citation

 


ERIC ED Document Citation

Sample of an ERIC ED document citation

 

 

Citing Your Sources

An important part of the writing process is keeping track of and citing the sources you have used during your research.

Research & Citation Help

https://owl.english.purdue.edu/splash/owllogosplash.gif

  • OWL at Purdue
    The Purdue OWL offers global support through online reference materials and services. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
  • OWL : General Guidelines for MLA
     
  • OWL Annotated Bibliography Guidelines
    The Online Writing Program at Purdue offers these general definitions and explanations for writing an Annotated Bibliography. Make sure you have consulted your course syllabus (and instructor) for specific requirements for your assignment.
  • OWL Annotated Bibliography Samples
    OWL offers samples of annotated bibliographies for APA, MLA, and CMS citation styles. These are just for comparison; be sure to follow the specific parameters provided in your assignment.
  • OWL: MLA Works Cited: Electronic Sources (Web Publications)
    Citing from online journals and Blogs can be confusing. Scroll through this section of OWL to find the right guidelines.

Pikes Peak Community College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning