Skip to main content

Government Information

Explore a huge universe of information in many formats. A great source for science and statistics.

General Portals

Internet Public Library (IPL) Government Information

Annotated list of links related to government in the united states.


USA.gov

This is the primary access point for US government information as well as links to state, tribal, county, and municipal governments


The United States Government Manual 

Contains explanations of US Government entities and their functions, across all branches. Published annually.


The University of Texas at Austin Libraries' Government Information Portal

Subject Specific Portals

Business USA

"A centralized, one-stop platform to make it easier than ever for businesses to access services to help them grow and hire." 

 

Bureau of Consumer Protection 

From the Federal Trade Commission, this site includes topics such as security, investments, loans, and shopping. 

 

Career OneStop 

Career information, data on salaries and benefits, education and training requirements, job search, and help with resumes and interviews. 

 

Disability.gov

"Disability.gov is the federal government website for comprehensive information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide." 

 

FedStats.gov

Data from over 100 Federal agencies.

 

Internet Archive 

A collection of texts, images, music, and audio, as well as The Wayback Machine which contains snapshots of Web pages taken to preserve the Web across time. 

 

Healthfinder.gov

"A Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy." 

 

National Techinical Information Service (NTIS) 

The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. For more than 60 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas

 

National Security Archive 

Contains declassified documents and is run by George Washington University. 

 

Science.gov

"Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative US government science information including research and development results."

Pikes Peak Community College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning