Skip to main content

English - Ridgeway

This guide is for students in Dr. Ridgeway's English classes.

How to Search

The key to searching the databases is using KEYWORDS. Searching the databases is different than searching an internet source. For example, you might type a whole question like, "what are the effects of video games on children's behavior" into a search engine. Typing in a whole sentence like that in the database confuses it and you won't find any results. Instead, you need to pick out the keywords and only search those. For the example above, you might search "video games" "children" "behavior" to get some relevant results.

While Boolean searching is the most effective way to search in the databases, there are other methods to create searches. 

Other options include:

Find all of my search terms

Find any of my search terms

and

SmartText Searching:  

Enter as much text for your search as you want - a phrase, a sentence, paragraph, or even whole pages. This mode searches EBSCO Databases only.

These options are useful if you are not finding what you need. Look at the search terms they are using and match those words in your search. But remember that is you use these options, you will get a lot of results!

Where to Search

When doing a project or research paper, using a variety of sources helps create a more interesting result. Different topics may require the use of different sources, but in general, you should use: 

  • books
  • reference books--encyclopedias and dictionaries
  • scholarly journals
  • magazines
  • newspapers
  • government documents
  • statistical sources
  • google scholar

You can find many of these types of sources in the PPCC Libraries collection. A search in the catalog will find books and use the eBook link to find electronic books. Use our databases to find journal, newspaper and magazine articles. 

The sources you find through the PPCC Libraries are reputable, reliable sources. 

Sources found in our databases are NOT internet sources. When your instructor says, "don't use the internet," skip Google and Wikipedia and use the libraries' databases and books. 

Pikes Peak Community College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning