Research Guides: Philosophy & Religious Studies: Article Databases

Subject Guide

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

7195022473

Subscription Databases

Links to scholarly databases the PPCC libraries subscribe to. Everything in them is considered a valid resource. It's a simple task to check the Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy and Purpose of each article/video/audio/report/statistic in these databases.

New and Controversial Topics

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of social issues and famed for presenting multiple perspectives. Find essays, academic and popular articles, audio and video reports, statistics, and hand-picked website suggestions.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Published weekly. The single-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. *NOT PEER-REVIEWED*

Cross-Disciplinary Database with Relevent Entries

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Arts & Sciences I and II as well as Language & Literature. These three collections include more than 300 publications in the following disciplines: economics, history, philosophy, political science, sociology, language, literary criticism, literary theory and classics
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Articles, primary sources, sacred texts and and a trove of additional information on religion and spirituality from the ancient world through modern day.

Electronic Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles ("an authoritative Wikipedia"). *NOT PEER-REVIEWED*