Skip to Main Content
Find Books at PPCC
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Collection of nursing-related eBooks that represents essential knowledge needed by professionals or students.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Health sciences eBook collection.
eBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of online books (eBooks) and resource materials accessible from any computer connected to the Internet. The full text of eBooks can be read online. To check out/download an eBook, create or sign in to your existing EBSCO account from "Sign in" button at top right of EBSCO eBooks webpage. EBSCO accounts are not the same as your PPSC network account or PPSC library account.
Where to Find Nursing Books on the Shelf
||Gynecology and Obstetrics
eBooks -- A Sample of Available Titles
5 Min Clinical Consult Premium 2021 by DOMINO
Make the most effective diagnostic and therapeutic decisions quickly and efficiently! Practical and highly organized, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2021 is a reliable, go-to resource for primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. This bestselling title provides rapid access to guidance on diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated factors for more than 540 diseases and conditions. The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2021 delivers clinical confidence efficiently, allowing you to focus your valuable time on giving your patients the best possible care. Get quick access to content-The 5-Minute Clinical Consult Premium 2021: 1-Year Enhanced Online Access + Print, 29th Edition includes 1-year access to 5MinuteConsult.com. Use your credentials to download and log into the new 5Minute app, available in the Apple and Google Play stores. Find the answers you need quickly thanks to an intuitive, at-a-glance format, with concise, bulleted text; hundreds of diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms; ICD-10 codes, DSM-5 criteria; and much more. Make confident decisions aided by current evidence-based designations in each topic. Written by esteemed internal medicine and family medicine practitioners and published by the leading publisher in medical content, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult Premium 2021: 1-Year Enhanced Online Access + Print, 29th Edition includes 1-year access to 5MinuteConsult.com and the 5MinuteConsult App. 5MinuteConsult.com is an evidence-based, online workflow tool easily integrated at the point of care and provides online-exclusive content, including: More than 1,200 additional topics, including the full contents of The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult and The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult New online-exclusive topics and algorithms on COVID-19 and Telemedicine Differential diagnosis support from an expanded collection of algorithms Current evidence-based designations highlighted in each topic Thousands of images to help support visual diagnosis of all conditions A video library of procedures, treatment, and physical therapy techniques An A-to-Z Drug Database from Facts & Comparisons® Guidance on laboratory test interpretation from Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests More than 3,500 patient handouts in English and Spanish Approximately 100 Diseases and Conditions in Spanish ICD-10 codes and DSM-5 criteria FREE point-of-care CME and CE: 0.5 credits each time you search the site to find the best treatment for your patients. This activity has been reviewed and is acceptable for up to 20 prescribed credits by the AAFP and the ANCC. The 5-Minute Clinical Consult Premium 2021, 29th Edition provides the luxury of a traditional print product and delivers quick access to the continually updated online content - an ideal resource when you're treating patients. Your 5MinuteConsult.com subscription also comes with free access to the all-new 5MinuteConsult App, available for download in the Apple and Google Play stores.
Publication Date: 2020
First-Year Nurse by Beth Hawkes
An Indispensable Guide for First-Time Nurses on Working with Doctors, the Joys of the Night Shift, and Facing Mistakes! You've completed the necessary education, passed the exams, and you're finally ready for your first year as a professional nurse. But there is still trepidation, accompanied by many unanswered questions. A true first year of nursing 101 guide, this book covers topics like managing feedback, working with doctors, working night shift, and recovering from a mistake. Writer and nursing professional Beth Hawkes draws from her own experiences to offer expert tips for first-timers venturing into this important discipline. Writing in a manner that's digestible and including illustrative anecdotes along the way, Hawkes will put readers at ease with her clear advice and directives--many of which can be applied in professional settings outside of nursing. She offers rookie nurses sample questions to help guide them on how they should be communicating with preceptors and colleagues, from morning to night. The perfect gift for nurses just entering the field!
Publication Date: 2020
Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference by Linda Skidmore-Roth
Put the most trusted name in nursing in your hands. Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text and on the free app - including 20-30 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA. Plus, no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects of 50 common drug classes. This 33rd edition proves once again why Mosby's is the bestselling drug reference for nurses on the market! Coverage of more than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs provides information for almost every drug a student is likely to encounter in clinicals. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. IV drug administration coverage in bold highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Logical, alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendices. NEW! 20-30 added monographs provide up-to-date content on newly released, FDA-approved drugs and drug therapies. NEW! More than 20 new Evolve-only drug monographs added to the existing Evolve-only drug monographs. NEW! Numerous herbal drug monographs included on Evolve site.
Publication Date: 2019
Awhonns Perinatal Nursing by SIMPSON
Leave the self-doubt behind -- get fully grounded in effective perinatal care, with Perinatal Nursing, 5th Edition, an official publication of the Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. Stay current with this must-have, evidence-based support for both perinatal and labor and delivery nursing. Strengthen and upgrade your perinatal nursing strengths and expertise: NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and more NEW content on newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation NEW and updated content on patient safety and maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States - Instructions on how to make maternity units safer based on the most current evidence, and through application of various care bundles Evidence-based information on clinical conditions - Includes chapter on obesity that covers risks to the mother and fetus, care from preconception to postpartum, and bariatric surgery Text boxes emphasize crucial care standards and guidelines Practical guidance and current best practices for areas including: Perinatal patient safety and quality care Integrating patient cultural beliefs and practices into perinatal care Physiologic changes of pregnancy Antenatal care Hypertensive disorders of pregnancy Pregnancy complications Multiple gestation Maternal-fetal transport Labor and birth Fetal assessment Managing pain during labor Postpartum care Newborn care - Adaptation to extrauterine life, physical assessment and nutrition Common neonatal complications All chapters written by expert nurse clinicians and researchers to support positive perinatal outcomes Nursing staffing standards are included as they apply to each patient population Ideal for those seeking certification in obstetrics nursing (RNC-OB) and maternal newborn nursing (RN-MNN, RNC-LRN) Perfect on-the-job resource and review text for all perinatal nurses, maternal units, and students Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource® eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist and Editor-in-Chief MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing in Saint Louis, Missouri. Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC is Manager of Clinical Operations, Labor and Delivery at Advocate Christ Medical Center in Oak Lawn, Illinois. Nancy O''Brien-Abel, MSN, RNC is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist at Perinatal Consulting, LLC and Affiliate Instructor at the School of Nursing, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. Cheryl K. Roth, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, RNFA is a Nurse Practitioner, Labor and Delivery at HonorHealth Scottsdale Shea/Osborn Medical Centers in Scottsdale, Arizona. Annie J. Rohan, PhD, RN, NNP-BC, CPNP-PC,FAANP is Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Director of Pediatric Research at the School of Nursing, Office of Nursing Research and Innovation at Stony Brook University (SUNY at Stony Brook) in Stony Brook, New York.
Publication Date: 2020
Fundamentals of Assessment and Care Planning for Nurses by Ian Peate
All nursing students are required to meet the seven standards produced by the Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC) before being entered onto the professional register. Fundamentals of Assessment and Care Planning for Nurses addresses two of these important standards, helping readers become proficient in assessing patient needs, and planning, providing and evaluating care. This timely publication adopts a practical approach with NMC proficiencies at its core, providing guidance and insight into the application of key skills and demonstrating competency in real-life settings. Centres around a fictitious nuclear family to provide a practical basis to the various chapters and assessment Offers mnemonics to enable comprehensive history taking and systematic physical assessment Helps readers address socio-cultural considerations they may face in practice Includes links to literature that provides further support and additional information Fundamentals of Assessment and Care Planning for Nurses is an important resource for pre-registration nursing students and Nursing Associates who are required to demonstrate proficiency in the new NMC standards, and other registered practitioners seeking to update their knowledge.
Publication Date: 2019
Nursing Skills for Children and Young People's Mental Health by Laurence Baldwin (Editor)
This book focuses on those nursing skills that are truly valued and needed by children and young people with mental health problems. Whilst other books have chiefly focused on mental health conditions and treatments, this book moves away from this formulaic approach and considers what children and youth themselves need most from health professionals. It shows why nursing skills are among the most precious values for patients. This focus on therapeutic relationships, establishing trust-based forms of nursing, and empowering children and young people to develop into healthy and resilient young adults has largely been neglected, despite the feedback from those who urgently need help but often struggle to find it, or are wary of seeking help and reluctant to engage. This book focuses on the places where nurses encounter young people and seek to help them. It examines the role nurses play in specialist child and adolescent mental health settings (such as in-patient and community, as psychotherapists, and on self-harm teams) and where paediatrics nurses work with troubled young people (in emergency departments, paediatric wards and primary care). It also considers two specific areas, namely eating disorder services and consent-seeking, that could benefit from nursing skills that are currently undervalued, but are in fact invaluable. Its focus on those skills that nurses already have, but may not be consciously using, will make this book uniquely appealing to all nurses who work with children and young people with mental health problems, regardless of the setting, and an essential guide for students and experienced professionals alike.
Publication Date: 2019
Advanced Assessment: Interpreting Findings and Formulating Differential Diagnoses by Mary Jo Goolsby; Laurie Grubbs
Coverage of 170 conditions and symptoms across the life span--including children, older adults and pregnant patients. Complaint-focused approach organized by body system, including discussions of complex conditions Step-by-step how tos for taking a focused history, performing a physical based on presenting complaints/problems, and interpreting the findings. Guidance on selecting diagnostic tests and interpreting those studies to help narrow down the diagnoses. Prediction rules for selected disorders. Quick-reference features, including red flags - assessment pearls - medications causing symptoms - and selected causes of symptoms.
Publication Date: 2018
Nursing Research by Janet Houser
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Fourth Edition is an essential text for nursing students to build the skillsnecessary for translating research into evidence. The Fourth Edition focuses on the Nursing Practice Guidelines and emphasizes evidence-basedpractice in the profession of nursing. To reinforce these concepts the author cites a particular article that is appraised throughout theentire text.The Fourth Edition also focuses on the dissemination of information and research best practices as conferences and other such resources become more available to students and professionals.Key Features* Emphasis on Nursing Practice Guidelines* New evaluation tool for reviewing a research article* Extensive PICO questions throughout the text* Addition of the contemporary PECO question* Poster template added to the chapter on translation
Publication Date: 2018
Books in the PPCC Libraries
Lippincott Q&A Review for NCLEX-RN by Desiree Hensel; Diane M. Billings
Lippincott Q&A Review for NCLEX-RN, 12th edition is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students prepare to take the licensing examination. Students and faculty also use the book is as a study guide and practice tests for preparing for faculty-made examinations. Because the questions found in the book are also available in PassPoint, the products used together act as an ongoing assessment tool to monitor progress throughout the nursing curriculum. The book is designed to support the four major content areas in pre-licensure programs: obstetrics, pediatrics, medical-surgical, and mental health nursing. Within each of the four sections, chapters are organized around common health problems. When studying, students can select examinations that parallel the content in a particular course in a variety of curricula. PassPoint offers the same flexibility for review and study. The textbook also includes six comprehensive examinations to provide students a realistic example of the NCLEX-RN test, in which test items are randomized by subject area and difficulty. This consistently bestselling NCLEX-RN review book features more than 6,000 high-level questions that prompt active learning and higher-order thinking. The questions support the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) 2016 RN test plan and are written in the style used on the licensing examination. Other features include the use of all the types of alternate-format questions found on the licensing examination, detailed rationale for both correct and incorrect answers, information about the NCLEX-RN, study tips, and a "Content Mastery and Test-Taking Self Analysis" grid by which students can chart their own progress and modify study plans as needed. The accompanying site on thePoint provides an opportunity for students to practice taking computer-generated exams as well as taking "audio" questions that require students to listen to audio files to answer.
Call Number: Rampart Range -- RT55 .B55 2017
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis by Gail B. Ladwig; Betty J. Ackley; Mary Beth Flynn Makic
Updated and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 5th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 11th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. It includes the 2015-17 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses Alphabetical thumb tabs Pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions Pocketsize portability Nursing Diagnoses Index UNIQUE! Includes the 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, with pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions Alphabetical thumb tabs provide quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover
Call Number: Rampart Range -- RT48.6 .L33 2017
Pocket Drug Guide Nurses 2016
The 2016 Lippincott Pocket Drug Guide for Nurses provides current, vital drug information "in a nutshell." Based on the popular Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide by Amy Karch, this handy pocket guide by the same author gives essential information on over 1,500 medications in an easy-access A-to-Z format. The "mini" drug monographs include generic and trade names, drug class, pregnancy risk category and controlled substance schedule, "black box" warnings, indications & dosages, dose adjustments, adverse effects, drug interactions, nursing considerations, and patient teaching. A special section reviews Patient Safety and Medication Administration. Appendices cover topical and ophthalmic medications, laxatives, combination products, contraceptives, biological agents (vaccines), and more. Also includes free online access to Monthly Drug Updates and a Toolkit loaded with hundreds of additional of additional drug-related resources on thePoint. The pocket-sized 2016 Lippincott Pocket Drug Guide for Nurses will quickly become your go-to guide for important drug facts and vital patient safety tips and alerts. New to this edition: - Full monographs on 29 newly approved drugs More than 1,300 additions, changes, and updates to indications, dosages, and administration
Call Number: Rampart Range -- RM121 .K373 2016
Pragmatic Children's Nursing by Duncan C. Randall
Pragmatic Children's Nursingis the first attempt to create a paediatric nursing theory which argues for the importance of giving children living with illness access to a childhood which is, as far as possible, equal to that of their peers. Set in the historical context of the development of children's nursing, this theory is presented in detail as an educational process, complete with eight outcome measures which allow the practitioner to evaluate its effectiveness. This book explores the triad relationship between children, carers and nurses within the context of healthcare delivery. Ht analyses the moral and ethical implications of pragmatic children's nursing, which challenges the established ideas of family-centred care. In addition to offering theoretical grounding and debate, Randall presents four practical case studies which model how this theory may work within various hospital and community settings. Establishing a link between the concepts inherent in pragmatism and our understanding of childhood within society, this accessible book will appeal to a global audience of undergraduate and postgraduate nursing students, researchers and policy makers.
Call Number: Rampart Range -- RJ245 .R36 2016
Pikes Peak State College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning