Skip to main content

High-Impact Practices (HIPs)

Study Abroad

What is study abroad?

Study abroad programs offer students real life immersion into a different culture. Expand your world views while earning PPCC credit.

Supporting Research

"Certainly, Study Abroad in Costa Rica was a Common Intellectual Experience.  In the future we could formalize our relationship as staff/faculty/students with a common assignment that is completed by all of the students before or  during the trip.  When possible, each discipline/class could contribute their own expertise to the common activity.  The Communication class did a great job prepping the group for the trip this time; I'm sure in the future we could find different things for each class to do for group preparation prior to or common activities and/or assignments during the trip."

 --Cynthia Holling-Morris, Faculty Professional Photography  


Listen to Faculty Member Glenn Rohfing interview PPCC student and Study Abroad 2018 participant Jordan Wright where they discuss Jordan's experiences traveling through Italy, being immersed in a different culture, and connecting the dots between his PPCC Communication class and study abroad experience

Study Abroad offers once-in-a-lifetime opportunities for students to travel to unknown worlds where they can immerse themselves in new cultures. Students participating in the May 2020 Study Abroad trips will travel to either Germany, Italy and Switzerland OR Peru.

 

Students will have the option to immerse themselves in locations such as Munich, the Dachau Concentration Camp, Venice and the Swiss Alps. Students who travel to Peru can explore wonders like Machu Picchu, Sacred Valley and Cuzco, the historic capital of the Inca Empire.

 

                Each trip cost includes airfare, food, housing, guided tours, travel insurance and in-country transportation.

 

For more information:

Germany, Italy, Switzerland

Peru


Study Abroad 2020 - Faculty Participants

Germany, Italy, Switzerland

Dana Zimbleman ENG/HIS  Dana.Zimbleman@ppcc.edu  502- 3428

Glenn Rohlfing HIS  Glenn.Rohlfing@ppcc.edu   502-3462

Misty Hull PSY Misty.Hull@ppcc.edu 502-3194

Teresa Aggen ENG Teresa.Aggen@ppcc.edu 502-3107

Regina Lewis COM Regina.Lewis@ppcc.edu  502-3133

James Brooke ECO James.Brooke@ppcc.edu 502-3300

Carrie Spencer HIS Carrie.Spencer@ppcc.edu 502-3139

John Mortland ART John.Mortland@ppcc.edu 502-3200

Katie Wheeler COM Katie.Wheeler@ppcc.edu 502-3088

 

Peru

Ruth-Ann Larish ENV Ruth-Ann.Larish@ppcc.edu 502-3318

Cynthia Holling-Morris PHO Cynthia.Holling-Morris@ppcc.edu  502-3200

Jennifer Hopper ECE/EDU Jennifer.Hopper@ppcc.edu 502-3300

Jenyva Fox ZOO Jenyva.Fox@ppcc.edu 502-3400

Ernesto Hernandez BIO Ernesto.Hernandez@ppcc.edu 502-3356

 

Faculty Resources

Scholarship Information

We are so pleased to announce that we have ten $1000 scholarships available for our Fully Pell eligible students.  If you know interested students who may qualify or who want to pursue this opportunity, please have them contact jo-ellen.becco@ppcc.edu, steve.grippo@ppcc.edu or robin.schofield@ppcc.edu


Fundraising

HIPs Faculty Specialists are peer experts who are ready to assist fellow faculty to implement or improve high impact practices.

Loading ...

Pikes Peak Community College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning