Skip to Main Content
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Complete is the most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing access to more than 1300 full text journals.
Free Online Resources
The ASPR TRACIE Technical Resources domain includes two main components, the Resource Library and the Topic Collections. This domain is a compilation of resources from numerous contributors, including existing databases from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and other government agencies. It contains up-to-date disaster medical, healthcare system preparedness, and public health preparedness materials. ASPR and NLM are partners in the development of the ASPR TRACIE Technical Resources Library, a resource of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Over 200 open access, peer reviewed journals (Science, Technology, Medicine).
Glossaries that cover topics such as chemicals and toxic substances, disaster and emergency management, humanitarian relief, climate and weather, radiation, wildfires, storms, hurricanes, earthquakes, emergency preparedness and disaster risk reduction, infectious diseases, and bioterrorism.
This a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience.
EM-DAT: The International Disaster Database
Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED)
This is a searchable database of one of the world's largest library collections of social science literature focused on natural hazards and extreme/catastrophic events.
Homeland Security (MERLN)
MERLN is a consortium of military education research libraries. This is a resource to find full-text documents on disaster preparedness research.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
The HSDL is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sources include- federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.
Monterey WMD Terrorism Database
The Monterey WMD Terrorism Database is the largest open source catalog of worldwide incidents involving the acquisition, possession, threat and use of weapons of mass destruction (WMD) by sub-state actors.
NIH Disaster Research Response (DR2) Database of Research Tools
The database contains selected research tools used in all types of disasters. These annotated links have been compiled as part of an effort to assist researchers to quickly and easily collect reliable data about novel events.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Provides links to public health resources, including bioterrorism, preparedness and other topics.
PLoS Disaster Currents
PLoS Currents Disasters is a new open-access publication from the Public Library of Science for the rapid communication of new research results and operational analyses derived from the study or management of all types of disasters.
Free full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
Reliable and current humanitarian information on disasters and crises across the world collected from over 4,000 global information sources.
A resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Pikes Peak State College Libraries
Information ∞ Inquiry ∞ Learning